Early Years Foundation Stage

Ashridge Nursery follows the Early years Foundation Stage framework. This focuses on the needs of children aged three until the end of their reception year in primary school. The Framework is organised into different Early Learning Goals, which help us to plan activities and experiences that provide a framework for children’s learning. These learning goals are split into 2 areas of learning – Prime and Specific Areas:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

However children’s learning cannot be compartmentalised and one exciting activity will provide opportunities for learning to take place across a number of these Learning Goals.

The Early Learning Goals, establish expectations for most children to attain by the end of their time in a reception class. Some children will exceed these goals, while others, especially those with Special Educational Needs (S.E.N.), English as an additional language (E.A.L.), or even the younger children will be working appropriately towards these goals.

At Ashridge Nursery we cover these Learning Goals by offering the children a variety of activities. The activities are carefully chosen based on the interests and fascinations of the children. We take our lead from them when planning our activities, whilst aiming to provide fun, excitement and the opportunity for learning.


Throughout the year we also link activities to other topics like the Seasons, or The people who help us and also with special days such as Christmas, Pancake Day, Mothering Sunday and Easter. We also celebrateĀ  festivals from other countries or cultures, giving the children the opportunity to learn about other people’s lives through a variety of ways such as listening to music, stories and food tasting.